About The Awards

During his memorable lifetime, the late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, founder of the United Arab Emirates, believed in the generosity and kindness of the people of the UAE. The affection he bestowed upon his people emanated from his faith in humanity and trust in the belief that every person is inherently selfless and capable of supporting and caring for others and their community.

In preserving the legacy of our nation's late founding father, and under the guidance and auspices of His Highness Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the United Arab Emirates, the Government of Abu Dhabi established the Abu Dhabi Awards initiative. An Emiri decree no. 29 of 2005 was issued to create the ‘Abu Dhabi Medal’, which honours individuals who have selflessly dedicated themselves to supporting and contributing to the United Arab Emirates.

The Abu Dhabi Awards recipients are selected based on the impact of their deeds and actions, not on the number of nominations received. Since its inauguration in 2005, 92 recipients have been honoured with an Abu Dhabi Award in 10 nomination campaigns. The recipients have been recognized for their contributions across an array of fields such as education, medicine, cultural preservation, history, and other areas that serve the community.

Recipients of the Abu Dhabi Awards are individually recognized for their efforts by His Highness Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the United Arab Emirates. Upon recognition, each recipient receives the Abu Dhabi Medal.

Through this recognition, the Awards aim to preserve the values of goodness within the United Arab Emirates, and inspire others to carry goodness forward.

Who will you


To celebrate the spirit of selflessness and giving in the United Arab Emirates, where humanity and goodness are always cherished.


To recognize committed and selfless individuals who have contributed to the community of the United Arab Emirates and in return, inspire and motivate others to contribute to their community.

Past Recipients

Mr. Jacques René Renaud
Dr. Abdulmajeed Brek Al Zubeidi
The late Mohammed Bakhit Al Ketbi
Mr. Yusufali Musaliyamveettil Abdul Kader
Mrs. Ghubaisha Rubaya Al Ketbi
H.E. Faraj Ali Binhamoodah Al Dhaheri
Mr. Hussain Abdulrahman Khansaheb
Mrs. Zaafarana Ahmed Khamis
Dr. Essam Eldin Mohamed ElShammaa
H.E. Mohammed Ahmed Al Murr
Dr. Fatima Alsayedyousef Al Refaei
Lieutenant General (Rtd.) Obaid Mohammed Al Kaabi
The late Dr. Azzam Al Zoebie
Theban Salem Al Mheiri
Fatima Al Kaabi
Ali bin Mana bin Mifreh Al Ahbabi
Dr. Jayanti Maitra
The late Ibrahim Abdul Rahman Al Abed
Dr. George Mathew
Farah Al Qaissieh
The late Sheikh Mubarak bin Qarran Al Mansoori
The late Mohammed Khalaf Al Mazrouei
Staff Col Dr. Aysha Al Dhaheri
Dr. Lihadh Ibrahim Al-Gazali
Dr. Ayesha Musabbah Al Memari
H.E. Dr. Anwar Mohammad Gargash
H.E. Dr. Adnan AlPachachi
Dr. Ghassan AlHasan
Dr. Faleh Handal
Dominik Vugrinec
The late Peter Hellyer
Jumaa Manea Al Ghuwais
Roger Upton
H.E. Prof. Maha Taysir Barakat
The late Alain Saint-Hilaire
Dr. Taisser Atrak
Salem Rashed Al Mohanadi
Abdul Muqeet Abdul Mannan
Aqeeda Ali Al Muhairi
H.E. Sultan Rashed Al Dhaheri
Latife Yunus Tabrizi
The late Saleh Al Ya’rabi
The late Dr. Abdul Rahman Hassanein Makhlouf
Manal Mahmoud Hamad
Isabelle le bon Poonoosamy
His Excellency Mohammed Habroosh Al Suwaidi
Rashid Mohammed Al Dhaheri
Drs. Thabit and Maleeha Thabeti Mehr
Cameron Oliver
Fahad Abdulla Jaber
H.E. Dr. Amal Abdulla Al Qubaisi
Dr. Margit Muller
Farida Sidduiqi
Ateeq Belal Al Qemzi
Brigadier Dr. Asma Sultan Al Mughairi
Emad Mohammed Saad
The late Sheikh Salem Bin Musaalam Bin Ham Al Ameri
Sana'a Darwish Al Kitbi
H.E. Ahmed Khalifah Al Soweidi
Hamad Hazaa Al Darmaki
The Late Dr. Azzedine Ibrahim Mustafa
Ahmed Awad Kareem
Sally Benge
The Late Lieutenant General Khalfan Matar Al Romeithi
H.E. Huda Ibrahim Kanoo
Lieutenant General Hamad Suheil Al Khaili
The late Colonel Edward Wilson
Amira Al Shaibani
The Late Dr. Rawdha Abdullah Al Muttawa

Quick Facts


Subscribe to our newsletter